Return to Headlines

19 Sycamore High Students Named Commended Scholars

commended scholars Sycamore Community Schools is proud to announce 19 Sycamore High School seniors have been named Commended Scholars in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.. The distinction places them in the top three percent of U.S. high school seniors.
About 34,000 Commended Scholars throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Scholars placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 PSAT.
This year’s Commended Scholars include: Isabelle Augustin, Cora Bennett, Aaron Charnay, Ben Charnay, Nathan Estill, Umang Joshi, Clare Knife, Kevin Lawson, Supriya Malla, Peter McCutcheon, Brett Mihlbachler, Athulya Murali, Varun Nagendra, Esther Pittinger, Laura Setser, Madeleine Sykes, Emma Traylor, Katherine Van Den Brink, and Orchid Wang.
This group of Commended Scholars joins 11 other Sycamore High School seniors were recently named as National Merit Scholar semifinalists. The semifinalist group represent the top one percent of all U.S. high school seniors and have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 scholarships worth about $32 million.
This year, the National Merit Scholarship Program raised the cutoff score for each level of distinction. Commended Scholars had to achieve a national Selection Index score of 209 or higher on the PSAT, while National Merit Semifinalists had to score 217 or higher.
Front Row (Left to Right): Orchid Wang, Supriya Malla, Athulya Murali, Esther Pittinger
Second Row: Madeleine Sykes, Nathan Estill, Emma Traylor
Third Row: Katherine Van Den Brink, Umang Joshi, Peter McCutcheon, Isabelle Augustin
Fourth Row: Laura Setser, Cora Bennett, Ben Charnay
Fifth Row: Clare Knife, Aaron Charnay
Sixth Row: Brett Mihlbachler, Kevin Lawson, Varun Nagendra