Return to Headlines

2017 Sycamore Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Announced


2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees
The newest members of the Sycamore Athletic Hall of Fame will be inducted during a special ceremony on Saturday, January 28. The new additions to the Hall of Fame include former Sycamore student-athletes spanning a range of nearly 60 years, as well as two coaches.

The 2017 Inductees include:

Joyce Chambers McCosham SHS Class of 1945 (Cheerleading, Softball, Track) McCosham served as President of the Girl’s Athletic Association, helping teach Physical Education. Joyce earned four letters for cheerleading and participated in four years of track. She also played on the 8th grade Boys’ Softball team.

Harold (Joe) Fricke SHS Class of 1949 (Baseball, Football, Basketball) Fricke earned nine letters during his time at Sycamore High School. He was a member of the 1948 Baseball State Championship Team as well as a member of the 1949 Hamilton County League Champions. During his freshmen year, Fricke earned a spot on the Hamilton County 2nd Place Team. Fricke was also the first quarterback in school history.

John Traub SHS Class of 1983 (Football, Baseball, Wrestling, Coach) Traub was an award-winning wrestler, earning E.H.L Heavyweight Champion in 1982 and again in 1983. He was also a two-time Sycamore Invitational Champion and Section Champion. Traub earned District Champion and placed fourth at State in 1983. He still holds the record for most points in one season. Traub was named a member of the 1983 City Championship Team, 3rd Place Sectional Team, and 4th Place District Team. Traub went on to serve as Assistant Varsity Wrestling Coach for 16 years and Assistant Varsity Track Coach for 3 years. He also helped start the Sycamore Youth Wrestling team.

George Wells SHS Class of 2000 (Football) Wells played four years of Varsity Football for Sycamore High School. He was named 1st Team All-City and 1st Team All-GMC during his senior year. Wells earned his place in the record books, where he remains in the top 10 for rushing yards, points, and touchdowns in a season, as well as total yards punting yards, and most yards rushing in a game.

Bailey Su SHS Class of 2004 (Tennis, Lacrosse) Su was named the 2004 Top Academic Student-Athlete, the OHSAA Scholar Athlete of the Year, and earned All-Academic for three years. She became the first 2-time All-American from Cincinnati in 2004 when she was named Honorable Mention All-American for the second consecutive year. Su was a member of two straight Final Four Lacrosse teams. She was named Lacrosse All-Conference, 1st Team All-State, Great Lakes National Team Player, and A Cincinnati All-Star. Su went on to play lacrosse for Northwestern University, where she went undefeated in 2005 and earned three National Championships.

Coach Mary Lou (Weber) Henke Henke served as a teacher at Sycamore Junior High and High School and a four-sport coach from 1959-1964. She coached Varsity & Junior Varsity Field Hockey, Girls’ Volleyball, Girls’ Basketball, and Softball. Henke also served as an advisor for the Girl’s Athletic Association, Sycamore Flyerette Drill Team, and Varsity & Junior Varsity Cheerleading. She also coached intramural basketball, volleyball, and bowling.

Two additional awards will be given as well: The 2017 Spirit of Sycamore award to longtime Sycamore Athletic Boosters Joan and Les Wells;  and the High Flying Aviators Team of Distinction award to the 1960-1964 G.A.A Members, Cheerleaders & Flyerettes. For more information about the inductees and to purchase tickets, visit


The program and dinner will be held at the Original Montgomery Inn (9440 Montgomery Road) beginning with a social hour at 5:30 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m.  Tickets are $60 and include dinner, dessert, soft drinks, and coffee, with a cash bar also available.