Return to Headlines

14 Students Named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists

2020 National Merit Scholar Semifinalists Fourteen Sycamore High School seniors were just named semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholar program, placing them in the top one percent of high school seniors in the U.S.

The National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes students who demonstrate exceptional academic ability based on their performance on the PSAT taken during the junior year. The cutoff score this year was 219.

Sycamore’s National Merit semifinalists are: 

  • Deeptangshu Chatterjee
  • Sachit Chundur
  • Elias Cohen
  • Foster Dawson
  • Theo Eborall
  • Dennis Gorur
  • James Hanus
  • Andre Harte
  • Shawn Hershey
  • Hari Iyer
  • Anisa Khatana 
  • Caroline Skwara
  • Jacob Smilg
  • Brian Vogt

These talented students are part of about 16,000 national semifinalists who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 scholarships worth $33 million that will be offered next spring. In February, around 15,000 Semifinalists in the nation are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing.

Sycamore’s National Merit Scholar semifinalists will be honored at the October 16 Board of Education meeting.

In the next few weeks, Sycamore High School will also announce the names of students who earned commended status in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship program.