Return to Headlines

Sycamore Students Named 2021 National Merit Semifinalists

national merit semifinalists

Twenty-two Sycamore High School seniors were just named semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholar program, placing them in the top one percent of high school seniors in the U.S.

The National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes students who demonstrate exceptional academic ability based on their performance on the PSAT taken during the junior year.

Sycamore’s 2021 National Merit semifinalists are: 

  • Reagan Becker
  • Scott Brown
  • Grant Carter
  • Noah Dinerman
  • Serena Huberty
  • Jacob Isakson
  • Arun Kamath
  • Niyati Kanchan
  • Hunter Kurtz
  • Aaditi Lele
  • Alicia Luo
  • Alex Ma
  • Pranathi Madala
  • Norah Pack
  • Chanakya Pandya
  • Matthew Rines
  • Adam Rohrer
  • Aiden Schmeling
  • Arushi Sharma
  • Weihuan Shi
  • Rishi Virma
  • Grace Zhang

These talented students are part of about 16,000 national semifinalists who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 scholarships worth $33 million that will be offered next spring. In February, around 15,000 Semifinalists in the nation are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing. The number of semifinalists in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. 

In the next few weeks, Sycamore High School will also announce the names of students who earned commended status in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship program.