Return to Headlines

National Merit Commended Scholars Named

Commended Scholars October 1, 2015 
Sycamore Community Schools is proud to announce that 24 Sycamore High School students have been recognized for demonstrating exceptional academic ability.

Twenty-four Sycamore High School students have been named National Merit commended scholars, placing them in the top five percent of U.S. high school seniors. The National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes students who demonstrate exceptional academic ability based on their performance on the PSAT taken during the junior year. Although they will not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, these talented students are part of about 34,000 commended scholars throughout the nation.

Sycamore’s commended scholars are: Keerthi Nalluri, David H. Wang, Yerim Lee, Madeleine L. Driscoll, Katherine A. Dunn, Marisa J. Koster, Yangxing Ding, Cerys Hughes, Jessica P. Wei, Mary M. Fry, Kevin S. Fitzgerald, Animesh N. Bapat, Jack W. Good, Daniel C. Mills, Maxwell J. Gottliebson, Josephine L. Masset, Christopher J. Seger, Nathaniel W. Halstead, Max R. Weiss, Kevin J. Gunter, Bradley R. Haupt, Alex C. Taylor, Ajay Qi and Max. S Poff.

This group of commended scholars joins 17 other Sycamore High School seniors were recently named as National Merit Scholar semifinalists. The semifinalist group has the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 scholarships worth about $32 million.