Return to Headlines

19 Sycamore High Seniors Named National Merit Semifinalists

Sycamore Community Schools is proud to announce 19 Sycamore High School seniors have been named National Merit Scholar semifinalists. This national distinction places them in the top one percent of high school seniors in the U.S.

The National Merit Scholarship Program recognizes students who demonstrate exceptional academic ability based on their performance on the PSAT taken during the junior year. The cutoff score this year was 219.

Sycamore’s National Merit semifinalists are:2018 National Merit Semifinalists

  • Grant Bruner
  • Mohit Dighamber
  • Pierce Ellingson
  • Kyra Fales
  • Peter Folz
  • Yuhi Hakozaki
  • Mallory Hall
  • Andrew Han
  • Hannah Kirkham
  • Kevin Landrum
  • Jessica Lu
  • Nicholas Mcdonough
  • Luis Pereda
  • Samuel Risma
  • Madeleine Weiss
  • Sydney Weiss
  • Theodore Weng
  • Abhilash Yarlagadda
  • Carolyn Zhang


These talented students are part of about 16,000 national semifinalists who have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,500 scholarships worth $33 million that will be offered next spring. In February, around 15,000 Semifinalists in the nation are notified by mail that they have advanced to Finalist standing.


Sycamore’s National Merit Scholar semifinalists will be honored at the September 26 Board of Education meeting and will be announced at the Sycamore football game on October 19.


In the next few weeks, Sycamore High School will also announce the names of students who earned commended status in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship program.