Return to Headlines

16 Sycamore High Students Named National Merit Commended Scholars

commended scholars











Sycamore Community Schools is proud to announce 16 Sycamore High School seniors have been named Commended Scholars in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. The distinction places them in the top three percent of U.S. high school seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Scholars throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Scholars placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2015 PSAT.

This year’s Commended Scholars are:

  • Swati Bhageria
  • Nishanth Chidambaram
  • Katie Good
  • Mahesh Gowda
  • Max Guo
  • Shayna Kling
  • Grant Laneve
  • Yeyoung Lee
  • Young Lee
  • Jason Merkel
  • Laura Mihlbachler
  • Adam Pelberg
  • Nikolai Smith
  • Neha Sunil
  • Christine Zou
  • Astin Lin

Commended Scholars had to achieve a national Selection Index score of 212 or higher on the PSAT, while National Merit Semifinalists had to score 219 or higher. Commended Scholars Max Guo and Yeyoung Lee scored 218. Laura Mihlbachler, Adam Pelberg, and Christine Zou scored 217..

This group of Commended Scholars joins 19 other Sycamore High School seniors were recently named as National Merit Scholar semifinalists. The semifinalist group represent the top one percent of all U.S. high school seniors and have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 scholarships worth about $32 million.