Return to Headlines

18 Sycamore Students Named National Merit Commended Scholars

Commended ScholarsSycamore Community Schools is proud to announce 18 Sycamore High School seniors have been named Commended Scholars in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. The distinction places them in the top three percent of U.S. high school seniors. 

About 34,000 Commended Scholars throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2022 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Scholars placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2022 competition by taking the PSAT. 

This year’s Commended Scholars are:

  • Matthew Bonn
    Lance Carrle

  • Shannon Cheng

  • Emily Daly

  • Matthew Enneking

  • Rajat Gupta

  • Kelsey Heaten

  • Alexandra Leech

  • Nathaniel Merrow

  • Jeremy Newman

  • Matthew Oya

  • Nicole Payton

  • Mya Reardon

  • Morgan RIck 

  • Olivia Severtson

  • Ashley Walker

  • Shane Werthaiser

  • Josephine Zink


Commended Scholars had to achieve a national Selection Index score of 212 or higher on the PSAT, while National Merit Semifinalists had to score 219 or higher. 

This group of Commended Scholars joins 11 other Sycamore High School seniors who were recently named as National Merit Scholar semifinalists. The semifinalist group represents the top one percent of all U.S. high school seniors and have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 scholarships worth about $32 million.